Information of the Parties and Observers


Member States at the Center for Emergency Situations and Disaster Risk Reduction


The Republic of Kazakhstan


The Republic of Kazakhstan is a unitary state with a presidential form of government. According to the Constitution, the country is a democratic, secular, legal and social state whose highest values are an individual, his life, rights and freedom.

Kazakhstan gained independence December 16, 1991. Capital – Astana. The state language – Kazakh, Russian has the status of a lingua franca. Currency – tenge.

President of the Republic of Kazakhstan is the head of state, the highest official, who determines the main directions of domestic and foreign policy and represents Kazakhstan within the country and in international relations.

The government exercises executive power, heads the system of executive bodies and provides guidance to them.

Legislative functions are performed by the Parliament, which consists of two chambers – the Senate and Mazhilis, acting on a constant basis.

Administrative-territorial structure of the country has 14 provinces and 2 cities of republican significance. The population of Kazakhstan exceeds 17 million people. Country’s territory covers 2 million 724.9 thousand km2, the country is ninth largest by the territory in the world.

Kyrgyz Republic


The Kyrgyz Republic is a sovereign, democratic, legal, secular, unitary, social state.

Date of independence– August 31, 1991. Capital – Bishkek. Languages: the state language is Kyrgyz, the official language is Russian. Currency – Kyrgyz Som.

The President is the head of state. The President represents the unity of the people and the government.

Jogorku Kenesh – Parliament of the Kyrgyz Republic – is the supreme representative body exercising legislative power and control functions within their authorities.

Executive power in the Kyrgyz Republic is represented by the Government, its subordinate ministries, state committees, administrative departments and local state administrations.

Kyrgyzstan consists of 7 administrative-territorial units – provinces and 2 cities of national significance. The territory of 199.9 thousand km2. Population – 6, 2 million people.


Observer States

at the Center for Emergency Situations and Disaster Risk Reduction

Islamic Republic of Afghanistan


Islamic Republic of Afghanistan since December 2001 has been a unitary state, Islamic republic with presidential form of government.

Head of Government is the President, who, with the approval of Parliament, appoints members of the Cabinet.

The highest legislative body -Parliament that consists of upper and lower chambers.

In the structure of the supreme bodies of state administration there is also a traditional institution of representative government – Loya Jirga ( “Great Assembly”, “High Council”), composed of members of both Houses of Parliament and the chairmen of provincial and district councils.

The population, according to the census results of 2013 is more than 31 million people, the area – 652 864 km2.

Capital – Kabul. Official languages -Pashto and Dari.

Afghanistan is administratively divided into 34 provinces, which are divided into districts.